Return to Headlines

JNHS Welcomes Three New Members


Photo credit: Richard D. Cole/In Rare Form Productions

The Granville Chapter of the Junior National Honor Society (JNHS) inducted and welcomed three new members on Wednesday, March 13 at 7:00 p.m. at the Granville Jr./Sr. High School.

The inductees are:

8th Grade
Jade Booska

Alexander Torres
Jenna Zernhel 

Current members of the National Junior Honor Society conducted the ceremony:

Welcome/Salute to Flag                    
Emily Powers

Principal’s Welcome
Mr. James Polunci

History of NJHS
Kaelyn DeKalb

Pillars of NJHS
Brent Perry

Speaking for SCHOLARSHIP
Matthew Fisher

Speaking for SERVICE                    
Kaden McIntyre

Speaking for LEADERSHIP             
Lilly Strout

Speaking for CHARACTER 
Catherine Gould

Speaking for CITIZENSHIP
Julia Kelley 

Closing Remarks
Alexa Weaver

The Junior National Honor Society Chapter Adviser is Mrs. Ann O’Brien, an English, Language, Arts Teacher for grades 9 & 10 at Granville Jr./Sr. High School.  

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) officially established NJHS in 1929, eight years after it founded National Honor Society for high school students. The first chapter was established in the lower grades of the Webster Groves High School in Missouri. The first charter to a junior high school was granted to Clarinda Junior High School in Iowa. Equipped with a constitution, an emblem and motto, and a group of dedicated principals as coordinators, the new NJHS organization quickly developed into one of the country’s leading educational groups.